Pink Apple Bottoms Logo
Follow Pink Apple Bottoms on Twitter

The Five Love Languages

  Are you and your spouse, partner or child speaking the same love language?  
  Have you read or heard about the book called The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman?  
  We recently attended a love languages talk. We re-read the book and decided that we had to share it with everyone.  
  Herewith an introduction or a reminder of what the Five Love Languages are:  
  There are basically five emotional love languages – five ways that people speak and understand emotional love. The number of ways to express love within a love language is limited only by one’s imagination.  
  The important thing is to speak the love language of your spouse, partner or child.  
  Once you identify and learn to speak your spouse’s, partner or child’s love language, you will discover the key to a long-lasting, loving marriage or relationship.  
  In order to keep the love alive you have to put the effort in to learn what the opposite persons love language is. If we want them him/her to feel the love we are trying to communicate, we must express it in his or her primary love language.  
  Each person has an “emotional love tank” and if this tank is not filled then that is where there is a breakdown in relationships, breakdown in marriages, and a reason for a child to misbehave.  
  What are the Five Love Languages and how can you recognise them:  
  1. Words of affirmation  
  This is someone who always compliments, they enjoy words. They are sensitive to harsh or critical words and even tone of voice.  
  2. Physical touch  
  This person enjoys all forms of affectionate touch, they love being physically close to loved ones and they give touch freely.  
  3. Quality time  
  This person loves spending time together.  
  4. Gift giving  
  This person will give you things on a regular basis.  
  5. Acts of service  
  This person loves helping to do practical things e.g. cooking, baking, shopping, gardening. This person also enjoys the process of making things e.g. cards, gifts, pictures.  
  After reading this do you now know what your partners love language is?   
  Here are signs for you to look out for if you want to know if your partner, spouse or child has an empty "love tank":  
  1. Words of affirmation  
  They frequently “fish” for compliments and self- compliment. They use sarcasm or hateful cutting words to hurt the person from whom they need words of love.  
  2. Physical touch  
  In an attempt to get touch, they will constantly touch (in a friendly way, not sexual). They may irritate the person they seek touch from to the extent that the person is likely to push them away!  
  3. Quality time  
  They constantly ask you to do things with them.  
  4. Gift giving  
  They may say “you haven’t brought me…. in a long time.”  
  5. Acts of service  
  They may get frustrated if they get stuck doing an act of service or making something for someone. They get frustrated if they need help and no-one helps them.  
  Knowing the above will give you an understanding of each person unique needs. If you apply the right principles, learn the right language, soon you will know the satisfaction and joy of being able to express your love and feel truly loved in return.  
  We hope you enjoyed reading this and that it has either inspired you to get the book or if you have it, to read it again.  Everyone has the right to have an amazing, long-lasting loving relationship.  
  If your love language is gift giving, then why not spoil your spouse or partner with something from Pink Apple bottoms today :)